Winter Vegetable and Tofu Korma with Roasted Spiced Cauliflower

My boyfriend and I love Indian food. It may be our favorite cuisine… The creamy curries, spicy sour sauces, and aromatic basmati rice form a really magical combination of flavors.

Our favorite Indian restaurant in Seattle is Taste of India. Located on Roosevelt Way Northeast in the University District, the dining experience there is amazing. Your food comes quickly and they have bottomless chai refills. Plus, I don’t think I’ve ever left there without getting something complimentary. They routinely give diners free appetizers and desserts.

Indian food is very vegetarian friendly. Just about everything on the menu at Taste of India is or can be made vegetarian. Paneer, a firm Indian cheese, is a tasty option available in most dishes.

Sadly, I crave Indian food more often than I can afford to go out to eat. Over the years I’ve experimented with many recipes trying to replicate the kormas and masala curries on the menu at Taste of India. I haven’t been able to get anything exact, but I have come up with some good variations.

This winter vegetable and tofu korma is extremely delicious. In our first week of fall weather here in Seattle, I’ve been craving warm, flavorful dishes. I made this last night to make the most of the cold weather.

Image

The recipe comes from 101 Cookbooks, one of my favorite vegetarian food blogs. I’ve made it once or twice before, but this time it tasted better than ever. I used carrots in place of the cauliflower from the original recipe, and decided to roast the cauliflower and put it on the side. I also cut the original recipe in half since we aren’t the biggest fans of leftovers.

Winter Vegetable and Tofu Korma

From 101 Cookbooks 

For the cauliflower recipe I just rubbed the cauliflower with olive oil, a bunch of spices (cumin, chile powder, cayenne pepper), and salt and pepper. Then roasted it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

