Cuban-Style Black Beans and Rice

Black beans aren’t my favorite. When I’m cooking at home I usually reach for kidney beans before using black beans. I like the flavor more, and somehow I like to think that they’re healthier. Cuban-style black beans on the other hand, I love. When the beans break down they create this great sauce.

I started craving Cuban-style black beans and rice yesterday and went online to find a recipe.  This one looked promising, but it calls for dry Spanish wine, an ingredient I don’t have and didn’t want to improperly substitute.

I ultimately chose this Bon Appétit recipe, though in the end I didn’t follow it very closely. I used a carrot in place of the green pepper (didn’t have one), added spices and hot sauce, and didn’t add the sugar the recipe called for. I also used more broth than the recipe to give it a looser consistency. Next time I make this I would love to serve it with cotija cheese, cilantro, and limes. I guess I just like Mexican-style black beans.

Cuban-Style Black Beans and Rice

Adapted from Bon Appétit

Serves 3 to 4

2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 large onion, chopped small
1 large carrot, peeled and diced
4 large garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 tablespoon dried oregano
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
2 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed, drained
3/4 cup vegetable or no-chicken broth (or water with Better than Bouillon)
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon Tapatio or other preferred hot sauce (optional)

Heat oil in heavy large saucepan over medium heat.

Add onion and carrot, sauté until vegetables caramelize a bit, about 10 minutes. Stir halfway through.

Add garlic and spices. Continue to sauté until garlic and spices are fragrant.

Add half of the beans to pan. Mash beans coarsely with the back of a wooden spoon.

Add the remaining beans, broth, vinegar, and hot sauce. Cover, and simmer until mixture thickens, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes. Season beans with salt and pepper to taste and serve with long grain white rice.

2 responses to “Cuban-Style Black Beans and Rice

  1. This sounds so delicious, I think I’m going to make it for dinner tomorrow

Leave a Reply

