Ingredient spotlight: yuzu juice and malt vinegar sea salt

This fall I’m working seasonal at Williams-Sonoma. Each year the company hires extra employees to work over the holiday season.

I love getting food products with the employee discount. This week I picked up yuzu juice and malt vinegar sea salt.

Yuzu is an East Asian citrus fruit. It’s pretty unique from the lemons and limes we see in local grocery stores. I see it as a cross between a lemon and a mandarin orange, though still pretty tart.

I first tried yuzu in Boom Noodle’s yuzu lemonade. I definitely what to recreate it at home. Boom prepares it with “lemon and yuzu juice, calpico, umeboshi.” Once I make a batch I’ll post my recipe. I’m excited to use yuzu in savory dishes as well.

This pork chops with yuzu-miso marinade recipe sounds good, but I’ll have to think of a tasty pork substitute.

The malt vinegar sea salt is more of a wildcard. I personally love vinegar, so I figured vinegar salt would be a nice addition to meals. So far I’ve had it on buttered toast, and gnocchi. It’s great! It really adds a nice malt vinegar flavor. I’m still trying to figure out what to use this on, but I’ll let you know when I come up with something interesting.

Leave a Reply

